Buddhism’s Threefold World & Six Paths | Myosenji Buddhist Temple
≡ Menu

Buddhism’s Threefold World & Six Paths

Sept 27 blog

Buddhism teaches that the cause of suffering is rooted in earthly desire. Among earthly desires, the earthly desires of the threefold world and the six paths are called illusions of thought (view) and desire (emotion). Illusions of thought are illusions based on a misguided rational about true reason, while illusions of desire are unrealistic emotions that arise during one’s thought processes. All of these are based on the three poisons of greed, anger and ignorance.

The Shitai Sutra explains that the “three kinds of love” are the cause of suffering:

  • yoku-ai (greedy love) is love that tries to fulfill one’s physical and emotional desires
  • u-ai (possessive love) is attachment to material things, thoughts and life
  • mu’u-ai (nihilism) is attachment to the idea of the rejection of life.

If one encounters and embraces the Mystic Law, the fires of earthly desires of the eight sufferings will become the fire of the wisdom of the Buddha of Intrinsically Perfect Wisdom and the opening of enlightenment. (written by Nichiren Daishonin in 13th century Japan).

Visit Myosenji Temple & Chant

To learn about Buddhism, the Threefold World and Six Paths and how to turn earthly desires into wisdom, visit Myosenji Temple for one or all of our upcoming Introductory Meetings:

Sunday, October 4th at 2:00 p.m.
Topic: Buddhist Concept of the Ten Worlds

Sunday, October 18th at 2:00 p.m.
Topic: What is Buddhism? Who is Buddha? Brief History

Sunday, October 25th at 2:00 p.m.
Topic: What is Karma?

If you have decided to become a Buddhist or are interested in learning how to become a Buddhist, after every Introduction meeting (about 3:30 pm) Rev Murata will be performing the Acceptance of the Precept Ceremony, the ceremony where you become a Buddhist.

Call or email the Temple if you have questions.


Excerpted from a Lecture on Basic Study Materials, The Four Noble Truths.