The Eye of the Buddha - Seeing and Perceiving Correctly | Myosenji Buddhist Temple
≡ Menu

The Eye of the Buddha – Seeing and Perceiving Reality

It is expounded that, although the votary of the Lotus Sutra possesses the physical eye, he also will manifest the divine eye, the eye of wisdom, the eye of the Law, and the eye of the Buddha.

written by Nichiren Daishonin in 13th century Japan

Buddhism teaches that we can acquire not only the eye of the common mortal, but also the eye of the Buddha which includes all the other four perceptive facilities.

The Five Types of Vision

  1. The eye of common mortals — the ability to distinguish color and form;
  2. The divine eye — the ability of heavenly being to see beyond the physical limitations of darkness, distance or obstruction;
  3. The eye of wisdom — the ability of those in the two vehicles to perceive the emptiness of all phenomena;
  4. The eye of the Law — by which bodhisattvas penetrate all teachings in order to save the people, and;
  5. The eye of the Buddha — which perceives the true nature of life spanning past, present and future. The eye of the Buddha also includes all the other four perceptive facilities.

Learn How to Acquire the Eye of the Buddha

Visit Myosenji Temple this Sunday, February 26th, to learn why (and how) our Buddhist practice allows us to acquire the eye of the Buddha and how we can thrive in the face of any difficulty or adversity.

  • Learn how to chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo and properly use the Juzu Beads, Buddhist prayer beads.
  • Q&A with our Chief Priest.
  • The meeting starts at 2:00 pm and concludes around 3:15 pm. Open to the public.

If you have decided to become a Buddhist or are interested in learning how to become a Buddhist, after Sunday’s meeting (about 3:30 pm) Rev Sakabe will be performing the Acceptance of the Precept Ceremony, the ceremony where you become a Buddhist.


Excerpted: Nichiren Shoshu Monthly Magazine, February, 2017, Basic Buddhist Terms, The Four Views of One Body of Water, pp.22-23.