Buddhism: How Do You Navigate The Eight Winds? | Myosenji Buddhist Temple
≡ Menu

Buddhism: How Do You Navigate The Eight Winds?

Fan and Beads

“A wise person is one who is not swayed by the eight winds.”

The “eight winds” are eight influences that agitate and inflame the human heart and mind.* They consist of four favorable circumstances (prosperity, honor, praise, and pleasure) and four setbacks (decline, disgrace, censure, and suffering). Their contents are roughly as follows:

Prosperity: to obtain what one desires

Decline: to suffer loss

Honor: to be admired and praised in one’s absence

Disgrace: to be criticized and defamed in one’s absence (behind one’s back)

Praise: to be admired and praised directly

Censure: to be criticized and defamed directly

Pleasure: to be happy in body and mind

Suffering: to suffer in body and mind

People naturally seek out the four favorable circumstances and try to avoid the four setbacks. This is why their defenses can be penetrated by these eight winds. The four favorable circumstances are viewed as rewards of the world of Heaven and the four setbacks as retributions of the three evil paths. For the most part, life consists of repeated encounters with these eight winds, what is termed in Buddhism “transmigration of the six paths.”

Sunday, November 2nd at 2:00 pm

Join us this Sunday for a lecture on the Buddhist Concept of the Ten Worlds by our Chief Priest and learn more about the eight winds, why you can easily be swayed by the eight winds, and what you can do to take responsibility for your life and change your karma.

*Excerpted from: Do No Be Swayed by the Eight Winds