How Buddhists See the World - The Ten Worlds | Myosenji Buddhist Temple
≡ Menu

How Buddhists See the World – The Ten Worlds


“In the final analysis, this sutra of Myoho-Renge-Kyo sums up all the teachings and meditational practices of Shakyamuni Buddha’s entire lifetime in a single moment of life, and encompasses all the living beings of the Ten Worlds and their environments in the three thousand realms.” Nichiren Daishonin, Conversation Between a Sage and an Unenlightened Man (I) Gosho (MW5 – p.80) [written in 13th century Japan]

The Great Teacher T’ien-t’ai of China, basing his work on the Lotus Sutra, established the theoretical building blocks for the three thousand realms in a single life-moment. One of the blocks is the concept of the Ten Worlds – Hell, Hunger, Animality, Asura, Humanity, Rapture, Learning, Realization, Bodhisattva and Buddhahood. All human beings possess the Ten Worlds and can go from one of them to another within a single life-moment.

Above is an excerpt from a lecture given by our Chief Priest, Rev. Murata, to Myosenji Temple members in June.  This Sunday, December 7th, Rev. Murata will be giving a lecture on the Ten Worlds where guests can learn the basics of Buddhism. Please visit Myosenji Temple Sunday and join us for this lecture. If you have questions, please call or email the Temple.

Introductory Meetings

Sunday, December 7th at 2:00 p.m.
Topic: Buddhist Concept of the Ten Worlds

Saturday, December 13th at 2:00 p.m.
Topic: What is Buddhism? Who is Buddha? A Brief History