Buddhism: Turning the Wheel of the Law | Myosenji Buddhist Temple
≡ Menu

Buddhism: Turning the Wheel of the Law

BuddhistTemple Dec6 blog

When Shakyamuni was thirty years old, he attained enlightenment under a bodhi (pipal) tree. After he became a Buddha, the presentation of his first lecture on the Law was called “Turning the Wheel of the Law.” [The symbol in the photo above represents “turning the wheel of the law.”]

Shakyamuni’s first lecture was given at Deer Park to the five ascetics on the teaching that is known literally as “The Four Resignations”, that is, the thing to which one resigns oneself. Because these “Resignations” refer to truths, these four resignations are “four truths to which the Buddha has become enlightened”, and thus, are called, “The Four Noble Truths.”

The teaching of the Four Noble Truths is an explanation that clarifies that suffering is the actuality of life and our earthly desires are the cause of suffering. It further elucidates that enlightenment is achieved through the eradication of suffering, while the eradication of suffering is accomplished through the path.*

Lecture on Enlightenment, Buddhahood and the Ten Worlds

Visit Myosenji Temple this Sunday, December 6th, for a lecture on Buddhism’s Ten Worlds and the explanation of enlightenment by our Chief Priest, Rev. Murata.

  • Learn how to chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo and properly use the Juzu Beads, Buddhist prayer beads.
  • Q&A with our Chief Priest.
  • The meeting starts at 2:00 pm and concludes around 3:15 pm. Open to the public.

If you have decided to become a Buddhist or are interested in learning how to become a Buddhist, after Sunday’s meeting (about 3:30 pm) Rev Murata will be performing the Acceptance of the Precept Ceremony, the ceremony where you become a Buddhist.

*Excerpted: The Four Noble Truths.