≡ Menu

Buddhism: How to Ride Life’s Roller Coaster

In our daily lives, we express our feelings of emotions based on our karmic relationships.

When we look at a person’s face, at times he appears joyful, enraged, or calm. At other times, we may see the appearance of greed, foolishness or flattery. Anger is a manifestation of the world of hell, greed is a manifestation of the world of hunger, stupidity is a manifestation of the world of animality, fawning is a manifestation of the world of anger, calmness is the manifestation of the world of humanity, and joy is the manifestation of the world of rapture.

written by Nichiren Daishonin in 13th century Japan

Nichiren Daishonin teaches from the world of hell to the world of rapture, these six paths are all present in our hearts. The four noble worlds of learning, realization, bodhisattva, and Buddhahood are hidden and dormant and cannot be seen. Even though the world of Buddhahood exists as a potential within us, it is hidden in the depths of our life. We need the seed of the Buddha to activate our Buddha nature.

Buddhism’s Ten Worlds Lecture

Visit our Temple this Sunday, June 18th, for a brief lecture on the Ten Worlds by our Chief Priest, Rev Sakabe.

  • Learn how to chant Nam Myoho Renge Kyo and properly use the Juzu Beads, Buddhist prayer beads.
  • Q&A with our Chief Priest.
  • The meeting starts at 2:00 pm and concludes around 3:15 pm. Open to the public.

If you have decided to become a Buddhist or are interested in learning how to become a Buddhist, after Sunday’s meeting (about 3:30 pm) Rev Sakabe will be performing the Acceptance of the Precept Ceremony, the ceremony where you become a Buddhist.

Excerpted from: Nichiren Shoshu Monthly, Basic Buddhist Terms, The Mutual Possession of The Ten Worlds, April, 2016, pp.18-20.